LEBRUN, August - Oboe (Flute) Concerto No. 2 in C major

14.00 EUR

In Stock
Catalogue No.:
EU 0101

Not yet rated Write a review



instrumentation: Oboe or Flute and Piano
ISMN: 9790801507006
editors: Józef Raatz, Marcin Kowalczyk, Marek Czerniewicz (piano red.)
number of pages: 20+4

Lebrun’s Concerto No. 2 was published by Sieber in Paris, circa 1777, and it is that edition which was used as the source for this publication. The editor’s decision to remind contemporary musicians of the work was occasioned by the enormous popularity it enjoyed at the turn of the 18th century, as is evidenced by the numerous manuscripts from that period which are preserved in European libraries. The composition consists of three parts, each sustained in a mood which is both light and serene, yet all continually surprising in the richness of their melodic inventiveness. One might venture to say that Lebrun’s work represents an interesting alternative to the oft-performed concertos of Mozart and Haydn and is suited to both learners in secondary music schools and students at music academies.

Reviews (0)

Write a review